Stop and Stare

I absolutely love Christmas lights. I mean it’s probably my favorite thing about the Christmas season. They’re peaceful, beautiful, mesmerizing. Even if we’re not celebrating the Christmas holiday, seeing lights up in quiet neighborhoods or bustling city streets makes the long winter nights just a little (or a lot) better.

Sometimes I wish we put lights up all year round, or at least all throughout the bitter winter. But I suppose it would take away from the beauty of it all. When you come across the lights this time of year, it’s hard not to stop and stare. The lights may reflect in the windows, mirrors, and street puddles; we may calmly reflect on our own lives just by glancing at them.

And right now as I’m sitting inside watching my dad re-wrap a few strands around our outside trees, I fall in love, yet again, with Christmas lights.

Leave a Reply

